reencooks

Tamale Pie

In Savory on April 27, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Image

Ahh, tamale pie. I got this recipe from my older sister, and it’s never failed to please. Who doesn’t like a good, go-to Mexican dish? It’s easy to make ahead of time and throw in the oven, which is what I did on a busy day this week. Here are the ingredients:

Image

1 LB Ground Turkey
2 Cloves Garlic, Chopped (I peel them & use my microplane so there aren’t big chunks)
1 teaspoon onion powder (you can use however much chopped onion you like, but J is super picky so I use powder)
2 teaspoons Cumin
1 Can Pinto Beans
1 Can Diced Tomatoes (If you investigate my picture you’ll see I used sauce. Sue me)
1 C. Shredded Cheddar Cheese
1 Chipotle Chile, Diced*
I Package Cornbread Mix
1 Egg
1/3 Cup Milk
2 T. Melted Butter

*If you have kids, or are not a huge fan of spicy things by all means omit the chipotle pepper. They’re smoked jalapenos, stored in a spicy tomato sauce so they’ve got a bit of kick to them. We love spicies ’round these parts but have also got a little one so stay tuned and you’ll see what I did about that.

Brown meat, then add garlic and spices and cook an additional 2 minutes. Remove from heat, add beans, tomatoes, chipotle pepper, and cheese. Pour in greased 9×9 pan.

Image
It should look like this. As you can see I went a little crazy and threw in some frozen corn.

In separate bowl make a batch of cornbread, following the directions on your cornbread mix container. The only thing I do to stray from the directions is when it’s combined I throw in 2 Tablespoons of melted butter. It helps the edges crisp up, and really when has butter been a bad thing? Spread the prepared cornbread dough on top of the meat mixture.

Image

Since our little guy isn’t crazy about spicy things quite yet (not sure where he comes from) I threw his portion into a separate bowl and put the buzzed-up chipotle pepper in the 9×9 pan. Bake at 350* for 35 minutes, or until the edges of the bread are brown and the center isn’t gooey.

Image

It’s simple to make, but serious comfort food.

  1. Yummy! I’ll try it.

Leave a Reply

